List of Presidents of India from 1950 to 2022

(Last Updated On: July 10, 2022)

The President is the nominal head of government, according to Article 52 of the Indian Constitution , on the advice of the Prime Minister (Council of Ministers). All executive action according to Article 52 according to Article 52 is taken in the name of the President of India. All MoUs signed with any foreign country are in the name of the President of India. The first President of India was Dr. Rajendra Prasad while the current President of India is Shri Ram Nath Kovind. He was elected as the President on 25 July 2017. Let us have a look at the list of candidates who have been elected as President so far.

List of Presidents of India: Imortant Points

He is the constitutional head of the parliamentary system of government. He represents the nation but does not rule on army. He is also the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The real power lies in the Council of Ministers.

The President is elected by the electoral college
(i) Elected members of both the Houses of Parliament
(ii) Elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies
(iii) Elected Members of the Legislative Assemblies of Delhi and Puducherry (added by the 70th Amendment Act, 1992).

Elected for five years but eligible for immediate re-election and may serve any term.

The President can be removed from office if the President is found to have violated the Constitution. This impeachment can be introduced in either house of the Parliament.

The Vice President acts as the President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment or other situations.

Sakshi Epaper Today PDF Download E News Paper ఈరోజు వార్తలు తెలుగు |గూగుల్ న్యూస్ తెలుగు Available at July 2022

List of Presidents of India from 1950

The Financial Express ePaper Download in PDF

List of Presidents of India

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first President of India while Shri Ram Nath Kovind is the present of India. The chronological order of the Presidents of India is given in the table below. Check out all the Presidents of India.

Name Starting date Closing date Profiles
1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad January 26th, 1950 May 13th, 1962 He was the first President of republic India.
2. Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan May 13th, 1962 May 13th, 1967 He was the 2nd President of India.
3. Dr Zakir Hussain May 13th, 1967 May 3rd, 1969 He was the 3rd President of India.
4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri May 3rd, 1969 July 20th, 1969 He was acting President because of Hussain’s death.
5. Mohammad Hidayatullah July 20th, 1969 August 24th, 1969 He was acting President till Giri’s presidency.
6. Varahagiri Venkata Giri August 24th, 1969 August 24th, 1974 He was the 4th President of India.
7. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed August 24th, 1974 February 11th, 1977 He was the 5th President of India.
8. Basappa Danappa Jatti February 11th, 1977 July 25th, 1977 He was a chief minister of the Mysore but got elected as President, After the death of Ahmed.
9. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy July 25th, 1977 July 25th, 1982 Reddy was the 6th President of India unopposed.
10. Giani Zail Singh July 25th, 1982 July 25th, 1987 He was the 7th President of India and was also a member of the Congress party.
11. Ramaswamy Venkataraman July 25th, 1987 July 25th, 1992 He was the 8th President of India. He was also a lawyer and a professional politician.
12. Shankar Dayal Sharma July 25th, 1992 July 25th, 1997 He was the 9th President of India, and he was also a member of the National Congress party of India.
13. Kocheril Raman Narayanan July 25th, 1997 July 25th, 2002 He was the 10th President of India and the best diplomat in India.
14. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam July 25th, 2002 July 25th, 2007 He was the 11th President of India, and he was a great scientist. He worked in ISRO and DRDO organizations.
15. Pratibha Patil July 25th, 2007 July 25th, 2012 She was the 12th President of India, and she was the first woman to Be President.
16. Pranab Mukherjee July 25th, 2012 July 25th, 2017 He was the 13th President of India, and he was also a senior leader of the National Congress party.
17. Shri Ram Nath Kovind July 25th, 2017 Working He is the 14th President of India, and he is also ex-governor Of Bihar.
List of Presidents of India

Presidents of India: Eligibility


Article 58 of the Indian Constitution lays down certain conditions for a candidate to be eligible for election to the President. Some of the following are given below:

The President must be a citizen of India.

The President must be above 35 years of age.

The President must be eligible for election as a member of the Lok Sabha.

The President of India should not hold any office of profit under the State Government, Union and other local authorities.

President of India: Important Facts

So far, seven have been members of a political party before being elected president.

Of these, six were active party members of the Congress Party.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (the first President of India) is the only person who has held the office for two terms.

The outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind was the Governor of Bihar before becoming the President of India.

Post Disclaimer

The information contained in this post is for general information purposes only. The information is provided by List of Presidents of India from 1950 to 2022

This website does not hold the ownership rights of any pdf available. This saree pdf is already available on the internet, whose only link we are sharing, which is only available for education purpose. It cannot be used for any kind of commercial.

If anyone has any objection to this link then email us, we will immediately delete this link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *